Hollywood never learns: more « redface » with « The Lone Ranger » Disney movie

Lone Ranger poster
This week Disney has been releasing new character posters for this summer’s blockbuster The Lone Ranger. Watch Posters Photos – Video ===> http://bit.ly/New-TV-Spot-and-Character-Poster-for-The-Lone-Ranger-Video

Disney does not trust their viewers (I don’t care if it is geared to children: why not show them reality?) and gives them predigested stereotyped stuff instead of a real First Nations person. Duh. Neither do they pay attention to what is going on in the world i.e. Idle No more. I hope they get nailed for this.

*Grimaces* In 2013, we are still doing « redface »? WTF?

At least they are not portraying a FN person as an idiot (despite the character’s name?). But having a real FN person in the role (don’t tell me there are no FN actors available!) and making it as authentic as possible are absolute minimums and it would be a lot more interesting. This is the first and most major problem! (For a FN actor, being reluctant or turning such an offer down makes a lot of sense too.) Anyway, positive stereotypes are still stereotypes. Tonto is a good guy, but still… I mean, the strong and silent type, we have seen before.

Second problem: Who is interested in a rehash of the same old? There are no talented screenwriters around and they have to reuse the same concepts over and over? This is just a showcase for Johnny Depp to show how good he is at pretending (the first critics I want to read will be from FN persons!). I don’t go to see that kind of movie I prefer indie or « author cinema » (excuse my French brain). Too commercial, I would learn nothing. Mental laziness and attempt to cash in on « safe bets ». Pfft!

I find it annoying that in 2013 they are STILL making movies out of old colonial era books. There are excellent FN novelists, why not put THEIR books on film? My 2¢ as a settler.

Also, the crow on his head annoys me. I have never seen a FN person wear that. Who wants a dead animal on his head in the sun all day long?

And, finally, someone pointed out quite rightfully than, in Spanish, tonto means « stupid », Way to go, Hollywood!

It’s almost a case for boycott. Denial No More!

And Why Is Michelle Williams in Redface?

